UTSA’s Adopt-A-Free-Textbook grant benefits faculty and students | UTSA Today | UTSA

Since launching the OER effort in 2016, UTSA Libraries has awarded 138 grants, realizing a cost savings of over $ 10 million for students.

“Ten million is no small number. These savings have truly helped level the playing field when it comes to student success, ”said DeeAnn Ivie, UTSA OER coordinator. “Courses that adopt OER provide our largely first-generation and diverse student body with equal access to their textbooks regardless of socioeconomic status. They cultivate deeper engagement with course content while simultaneously eliminating barriers to success. “

During this year’s grant period, faculty submitted 28 applications in the Adoption, No-Cost and Design categories. Adoption grants enable recipients to adopt existing OER for their course. No-Cost grants enable faculty to adopt library e-books, articles or other library materials. Design, a new category added this year, enables grant recipients to involve students as they modify, remix or author their course’s textbook or other teaching materials.

“The new Design tier creates the potential for 2022 faculty grant recipients to work with their students to create openly licensed textbooks,” Ivie said. “Students can add these textbooks to their resumes and career profiles. These are priceless experiences that will follow students well after they leave UTSA. “

The 2022-2023 OER grant recipients are:

Adoption Grants

  1. Mary Dixson (College of Liberal and Fine Arts, Intercultural Communication)
  2. Carolyn Luna (College of Sciences, Pre-calculus)
  3. Kristy Masten (College of Liberal and Fine Arts, Art History I)
  4. Annette Portillo (College of Liberal and Fine Arts, Topics in Multiethnic Literatures of the US)

No-Cost Grants

  1. Dan Davied (Carlos Alvarez College of Business, Happiness, Well Being and Modern Consumerism)
  2. George Felipe-Gonzales (College of Liberal and Fine Arts, Caribbean History)
  3. Veronica Luna (College of Education and Human Development, Feminist Theories)
  4. Ritu Mathur (College of Liberal and Fine Arts, International Human Rights)
  5. Serife Tekin (College of Liberal and Fine Arts, Philosophy of Science)

Design Grants

  1. Judith Dones, Morgan Grace, Kathleen Laborde and Alyssa Vikesland (University College, Academic Inquiry and Scholarship)
  2. David Han (Carlos Alvarez College of Business, Mathematical Statistics)
  3. Jude Okpala (College of Liberal and Fine Arts, Introduction to the Humanities I)
  4. Mimi Yu (College of Liberal and Fine Arts, Elementary Japanese)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button