Zegers Named ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

DURHAM – With the 2022 collegiate fencing season in the books, a combined 10 Duke fencers garnered spots on the All-ACC Academic Men’s and Women’s Fencing Teams, as announced by the conference office Wednesday. Junior saberist Anneke Zegers was tabbed the ACC Fencing Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the women.

Four Blue Devil men and six women were named to the list. Seniors Alex Gorman and Zoe Supervillejuniors Find Hossfeld, Terence Lee and Zegers, sophomores Christina Ferrari, Stephen Kim, Sarah Lurye and David Tierney and freshman Rachel Kowalsky earned their spot.

Five of the 10 qualified for the NCAA Championship, including All-America honorees Ferrari, Hossfeld and Lee, while Ferrari, Kowalsky, Lee, Lurye and Tierney collected medals at the ACC Championship.

To be eligible for the All-ACC Academic Teams, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.0 grade point average for both the previous semester and as a cumulative average during their academic career as undergraduate students. Athletic achievements during the most recent season also factored into the selection process.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

For more information on Duke fencing, follow the Blue Devils on TwitterFacebook and Instagram by searching for “DukeFEN”.


2022 All-ACC Academic Men’s Fencing Team
Bin Huang ***, Boston College, Foil, Jr., Finance
Bolang Meng ****, Boston College, Saber, Sr., Business Analytics
Brian Wang, Boston College, Foil, Jr., Business Analytics
Find Hossfeld**, Duke, Foil, Jr., Public Policy
Stephen Kim**, Duke, Saber, So., English
Terence LeeDuke, Saber, Jr., Math & Computer Science
David TierneyDuke, Foil, So., Global Cultural Studies
James Mulligan ***, North Carolina, Foil, Sr., Environmental Sciences
Cameron Santos, North Carolina, Epee, Jr., Business Administration
Henry Shugart **, North Carolina, Epee, So., Statistics and Analytics
Hunter Candreva, Notre Dame, Epee, Jr., Finance
Stephen Ewart **, Notre Dame, Epee, Sr., Business Analytics
Jared Smith, Notre Dame, Saber, Sr., Mechanical Engineering

2022 All-ACC Academic Women’s Fencing Team
Laura Boden, Boston College, Epee, Sr., International Studies
Christina Ferrari**, Duke, Foil, So., Linguistics
Alex Gorman***, Duke, Saber, Sr., Public Policy & International Comparative Studies
Rachel KowalskyDuke, Epee, Fr., Undeclared
Sarah LuryeDuke, Epee, So., Undeclared
Zoe Superville****, Duke, Foil, Sr., Computer Science
Anneke Zegers**, Duke, Saber, Jr., English
Sophia Mandour, North Carolina, Foil, Jr., Media and Journalism
Amita Berthier, Notre Dame, Foil, Jr., Sociology
Miriam Grady ****, Notre Dame, Epee, Sr., Science-Business
Kaylin Hsieh, Epee, So., Marketing
Dasha Kudriavtseva, Notre Dame, Saber, So., Computer Science
Kara Linder, Notre Dame, Saber, Sr., Environmental Sciences
Amanda Pirkowski, Notre Dame, Epee, So., Marketing
Nicole Pustilnik, Notre Dame, Foil, Fr., Science Pre-Professional

Bold denotes ACC Fencing Scholar-Athletes of the Year
* denotes individual’s number of All-ACC Academic honors

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button