Central Wisconsin students, school staff among Kohl Foundation award recipients

For the Hub City Times

MILWAUKEE – The selection committee for the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Student Scholarship, Teacher Fellowship, and Principal Leadership program has announced the recipients of this year’s Herb Kohl Foundation awards for Wisconsin students, teachers, and principals.

Awards of $ 6,000 are being made to 100 teachers, 17 principals, and their schools, and $ 10,000 scholarship will be given to 174 graduating high school students.

Student Excellence Scholarship recipients have demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond. Teacher Fellowship recipients are educators who have been chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.


Principal Leadership Award recipients are school principals who are being recognized for setting high standards for instruction, achievement and character, and creating a climate to best serve students, families, staff and community.

Excellence Scholarship, Fellowship and Leadership Award recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, and representatives of education-related associations and the program’s co-sponsors .:

Initiative Scholarship recipients, chosen by their schools, have overcome significant obstacles or adversity, have demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond, but have not yet received other academic-based scholarships.

Central Wisconsin Recipients

Excellence Scholars

CESA 5 – Madelyn Hepp, Port Edwards, Lincoln High School; Hanna Merkel, Marshfield, Marshfield High School, Marshfield; Evelyn “Eva” Schiferl, Marshfield, Columbus Catholic High School. CESA 10 – Rebecca Mlsna, Spencer, Spencer Junior High / High School.

Initiative Scholars

CESA 5 – Miquel Chavez, Plover, Charles F. Fernandez Center for Alternative Learning.

Teacher Fellows

CESA 5 – Dustin Anderson, Wisconsin Rapids, Grant Elementary, Wisconsin Rapids; Kelly Look, Wisconsin Rapids, Washington Elementary, Wisconsin Rapids.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button